A Blanket made with Love

One of the greatest things about having no hair is you don’t wake up with bed hair.

It looks like my, now good friend, Ashley (the post man) will feature a lot in these blogs of mine. Remember the other day when he yelled out ‘What have you done to your head?”

Today, he ding donged my doorbell because he had a huge parcel for me. I thought it was one of my nurse neighbours and was about to just jump out of bed and answer the door in tank top, one boob hanging and one missing, and pyjama pants but thankfully, grabbed my good ol’ dressing gown and threw it on just in case.

Ashley is standing at my door, big smile and totally oblivious to have just woken me up. It HAS to be because there was no bed hair. My face must look the same weather I am wide awake or having just been woken. So Ashley being Ashley hands me my huge parcel and the rest of my mail (No Bills again yippeee) and says to me that I should go for a walk to his place (He points to a house on the hill) because the views are marvelous.

Yup, I’ll look into that at a later date thanks Ashley…

Anyhoo, what was in the parcel? Well, I think you can guess given the title of this blog but check it out!! This entire gorgeous blanket was made by my amazing Auntie Janet.

IMG_0014

It’s huge, and colourful and bright and happy and amazing. Thank you thank you thank you to my amazing Auntie.

How can I not be happy and snuggly warm and loved with this amazing blanket.

Oh, and thank goodness I am not aloud to diet while going through this spa therapy bizzo because the blanket came with a bag of Haighs Chocolates!!

7 thoughts on “A Blanket made with Love

  1. Hi Amanda, great story, and it’s really terrific and uplifting that people are so kind and thoughtful. Sometimes people ask “What can I do to help?”, and I can be lost for words. It’s nice when they think of something and go and do it – these actions are infused with love and I’m sure the energy becomes embedded in whatever they make/do, and reverberates through us helping us to get well. I’m pretty sure love is healing. It’s also great you can keep up the humour and put a smile on our faces. I must say that I don’t always feel so chirpy or like being funny, but can occasionally manage a joke or a laugh. Good on you and all the best with everything, Phil

    Like

    1. She is a wonderful woman and I agree in your words of her having sent all the love and warmth along with smiles and hugs wrapped up in a rainbow. I am a very lucky lady.

      Like

  2. This is very sweet. A friend’s mom made me a blanket for chemo and it is now my favorite blanket. She even picked my two favorite colors (yellow and orange). The issue is, it is also my cat’s favorite.

    Little acts of love like this one is what helped me recover. It makes a big difference.

    You are loved. xo

    Like

    1. Ah happy colours for you too. I love yellow and orange for happiness. I did have a chat with Brady (my big white dog) last night and tried to explain that this blanket is mine. I told him that I didn’t really want to share it because sometimes he wipes his mouth on my sofa and other blanket after his dinner! Such rudeness but can’t help but love him.

      My blanket will be folded and put away each night when not in use 🙂

      The acts do make a big difference.

      Thank you for your kind words lovely xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment